sob story college essay reddit

The essay should be a preview to the amazing person who is applying for admission!

Nowhere do I get the impression that Cristen was trying to pass this off as an example of a perfect or “model” essay – it is simply one essay, out of the thousands that MIT sees over the course of the year.

So, while he is open with the reader about how he lies to his parents, the reader can understand why he would do such a thing based on his home life. “Where have you been?” my mom asks me as I waltz in the door. That is wrong. This part of the essay makes it clear that while things might not be good at home, Daniel is able to find joy in something through which he can excel (this shows a college that he is not held back by his circumstances).

Having to deal with financial difficulties definitely falls into those categories. I’m an MIT student just like them. And so my college application season began.

I gave MIT the new essay, and MIT gave me admission. Do's and Don'ts for your College Application Essay. ground work. By the way, despite my trollish tendencies, I have a heart too.

That was a good essay. Finally, it was not just one essay that secured her admission to MIT.

The last line of the essay is brilliant……equally the flow of the whole essay is very good….the reader wants to read more once he/she started reading it…. There is no “right” or “wrong” MIT admissions essay. Although I use second-hand paints and brushes in acrylic painting class, I know that my painting will look just as striking.

African Americans comprise less than 10% of every MIT class as far as I’ve seen, yet 12-13% of the U.S. is African-American and I believe close to 20% of 18 year olds are African Americans. But I don’t think it helps to post essays like this because we know applicants are going to read them and try to draw some lesson from it on how to improve their chances.

Only pick a topic that can reveal your best traits and personal growth.